asana and anxiety

it’s no secret that i started practicing yoga, and ultimately decided to get my certification to teach, because i was dealing with an overwhelming anxiety disorder.  even though i know how yoga makes me feel, i know there are still some skeptics out there.  yoga helping to alleviate anxiety?  yeah, right. 

well here’s proof thanks to a Yoga Dork piece that i came across while doing some research.

what do you turn to yoga for?  post-workout stretches?  shoulder openers?  happy hips?  headache relief?  i kinda love that yoga can help everything from hang nails to hangovers.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary @ Bites and Bliss
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 22:03:56

    Oh cool! You’re training for a half AND a yoga instructor?! We can relate on more than one level. 🙂 Yoga saved me during my ED. I was a chronic exerciser and when I had to give it up to gain weight, yoga was something I could do to calm my nerves and help make my body healthy. I feel in love with it and decided to teach to be able to spread it to others.

    Reply

    • bonnie
      Aug 04, 2011 @ 22:15:52

      oh my gosh!! same here girl! once i really dove into the practice i couldn’t imagine not sharing it with others! i never thought i would have found myself on this path. thank you for sharing your story! what marathon are you training for?? i’m doing the vegas rock n’ roll half

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

